Smooth Operator

Home Forums Main Forum Smooth Operator

This topic contains 29 replies, has 11 voices, and was last updated by  smitty 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 30 total)
  • Author

Anybody into mid-lengths? I haven’t been for the most part but some of them intrigue me. How about the “Smooth Operator”?

BarryCuda
    Grom

Interesting–that Smooth Operator is just like my G&S Magic. Shapers are now returning to mid-length boards making it sound as if it was “their idea”. hahaha…nope–it wasn’t. I have been surfing 3 boards just like that for the last 20 years. Seems to be a nice board. I might even get one…..

Interesting–that Smooth Operator is just like my G&S Magic. Shapers are now returning to mid-length boards making it sound as if it was “their idea”. hahaha…nope–it wasn’t. I have been surfing 3 boards just like that for the last 20 years. Seems to be a nice board. I might even get one…..

I thought you may like this one. I wasn’t sure how similar it was to your other boards but it looks fun and it’s a nice shape. I won’t be getting one right now but I may consider one in the future, or something similar.

Ive actually gone short and wider. Loving high volume short boards

Yeah I like those too, I want a lot of different boards.

LBCrew
    Grom

Not into midlengths, but I see their value. If I was gonna build one… and I’ve thought a lot about it recently… It would be super thin and flexy, but super springy. In other words, I’d want to thin it out to keep it from being over-volumed, and I’d want it to flex in the pocket and through hard turns at speed. But I want it to spring back quickly. I have some ideas on how to make that happen, using a composite sandwich of eps, sheet pvc foam, and a flat, horizontal stringer instead of traditional vertical stringer… either wood or just an engineered strip of carbon fiber. Definitely single concave bottom with some vee out the back.

• Last modifed 2 months, 3 weeks ago